Chapter 28

Tirack almost believed that Cabel was being manipulated by someone else, as if a spell had been cast over him. I’d heard of there being black magic in Vios, and it seemed like a real possibility. So I joined in this belief myself, serious about finding the real cause of all this.

Because it wasn’t just that first day that Cabel took me to scenic views.

Outwardly, my relationship with Cabel has consisted of those twice daily greetings. But in reality, for the past four days, the two of us have gone deep into the mountains together after the regular march.

I’d walk alongside Cabel, trembling with anxiety every time, but in the end, I did really admire the beautiful scenes he showed me.

The waterfall I saw on the day of that fateful dinner was also recommended by Cabel, but more than anything I’m just curious to know how he’s found all these hidden tourist attractions with such a blunt face. And I really don’t understand taking ‘only me’ to such places.

But not being able to understand doesn’t mean not knowing why. In other words, I could vaguely guess the reason by now, but it’s difficult to believe. No, honestly, how can I truly accept it?

What am I supposed to think of the fact that Cabel likes me…?

I did make a confession that I like being treated kindly; but whenever I see him putting forth that effort, I fall into deep confusion. What the heck is this? I’d never grasped even the slightest hint of his affection.

…..well, were there signs? Come to think of it, there were times when his reactions were unexpected. Like saying my short haircut wasn’t bad, or that he’s used to my breathing… A-ack. It’s hard to think about again.

Anyway, the Nickel Knights were the first to detect these small changes, that were actually big changes for Cabel. And then others began to notice one after another.

Even though he never said anything to spread rumors regarding our relationship, the look in his eyes when we’re together has changed. And I can’t shake the feeling that whispered conversations follow us wherever we go….

As a result, I was plagued by troubles related to him almost all day. ‘Did the duke like me…?’ I’d ask Lily, with her responding, ‘Maybe so…?’ or the like, answering my question with a question.

The Lily I know would have expressed her annoyance at my repeated questions by now, so she must have also been really curious, to actually join in on my questioning in circles.

Of course the most likely explanation was still that Cabel was being mind-controlled by Vios’s dark magician. It was even their traditional bull-rushing liquor that got me into this mess…!

There was a part of my heart that was regretful that my confession went wrong, and that Elvin wouldn’t know how I feel, but the reality facing me right now is much more important.

I have no idea since when, but somehow Cabel likes me, so he accepted my confession. And he cared enough about me to change his behavior dramatically; so much so that I will certainly die the moment he finds out the confession was wrong. This is my reality.

I’d spent the past four days thinking about what possibly could be done for my situation.

As a result, I couldn’t remember any conversation I had with Elvin during that period, and since they were probably only formal greetings anyway, I didn’t really try to remember.

However, yesterday Elvin did try to make conversation, saying that climbing the mountain seemed to be less difficult for me now. But I was so distracted thinking about Cabel that I responded a beat late. I smiled awkwardly and replied that I must have finally adjusted to it, cutting the conversation short and causing a strange expression to appear on his face.

I was sorry that I gave the impression of insincerity, so I tried to talk to him again, but his expression had already returned to normal and he seemed to be lost in his own thoughts, so in the end there was no dialogue between us.

I was bothered by this, so I was thinking of apologizing to him if I had a chance later, of course thinking that opportunity wouldn’t come.

So, naturally I was unsettled when Elvin suddenly came to talk to me like this.

“Priestess Renesha. I have something to share with you regarding the schedule after we return to the capital. Do you have a moment?”

I had just arrived at the villa. This morning, too, I was greeted by Cabel, so I had to once again receive the Nickel Knight’s shocked stares and to prepare myself for a march full of Tirack swearing against Vios’s black magic as background noise.

However, what is different about today is that the Holy Knights were at the forefront. So, although I suffered a lot of inner anxiety because of the Nickel Knights following behind me, fortunately, nothing happened, so I was relieved.

And I was just arriving at the villa and thinking to myself that there seemed to be no secret tourist spots to sneak off to today… When Elvin found me unexpectedly.

“Ah, yes. That’s fine. “

But his reason to speak with me wasn’t particularly strange, so I suppressed my surprise and followed him.

Come to think of it, I can’t relax even after we return to the capital. There’s Vios’s letter of surrender, my suddenly enhanced holy power, and the apprehension of not knowing how Cabel will behave in the capital…….

There’s not just one or two things for me worry about. And as Elvin headed for the low hill behind the villa, I followed behind him, wondering why the knights go uphill even for a simple walk, or if maybe this is supposed to be more training.

Anyway, I have so many things to worry about right now, and as I listened to Elvin talk about the schedule I might have to do after our return, I started to get more and more lost in my own thoughts.

It seems a reassessment of my holy power will be unavoidable, and as for the title of “saintess,” the empire will review it and may or may not grant it. Since I’m not from the state religion of Abnel, it is uncertain what they will decide. So I even have to worry about something that I don’t want to receive.

On top of that, the capital is awaiting our return and preparing for a grand entrance ceremony, and they’re suggesting that maybe I should lead the procession…

“……hyuk. “

In the middle of those thoughts, I suddenly felt like something was off. As soon as I realized what it was, I gasped.

I thought I was walking behind Elvin, but at some point I began walking in front, and Elvin was staring at my back from a distance. Cr-crazy. I couldn’t believe how rude I was.

“Oh, oh I’m so sorry.”

I hurriedly returned in front of Elvin and apologized. I was almost running, but Elvin was gracious and told me not to run, saying it was dangerous since it was downhill.

But I was too ashamed to slow down, so I gasped as I ran downhill, apologizing over and over again.

“We were in the middle of a conversation… ughh, I’m really sorry.”

“Um, it’s nothing. I don’t feel bad at all.”

Elvin spoke in a fairly peaceful tone, with the same expression as when he first looked at me. A calm voice, that let me know what he said wasn’t a lie. But I still felt sorry and didn’t know what to do… Elvin burst into a quiet laughter.

“Actually, I stopped first. The priestess didn’t leave me behind, I stopped on purpose.”

“I-… isn’t it because I was zoning out during the conversation?”

“No. It’s just……”

For a moment, Elvin shut his mouth and had a mysterious expression….. eventually his eyes curled gently.*

[tl/n*: idk if its just me but this wording felt wrong to me. I’m always torn between changing it to sound better in English or just writing what the author intended literally…..which is somehow his eyes curling]

“I’ve gotten used to seeing the priestess’s back.”

…..In the quiet space, I could hear Elvin’s voice exceptionally clearly. The low voice with a slight smile felt strange for a moment, but as soon as I interpreted its meaning, my heart dropped.

Elvin went on nonchalantly.

“All this while, I’ve walked behind the priestess, and it seems I’ve grown accustomed to it.”

I couldn’t say anything. It was a short time, but I even thought I forgot how to breathe.

Elvin walked casually while I was silent. I hesitated, but began to follow behind him.

“You seem to have a lot of worries.”

“Oh… It seems like there’s so much to do after returning to the capital….”

“It shouldn’t be too difficult for the priestess. Maybe a bit tiresome. “

Well, their meaning is more or less the same to me……so I just laughed awkwardly, swallowing the emotion I couldn’t bring myself to say.

A rather peaceful conversation ensued. The slope of the hill wasn’t too steep, but sometimes there were rocks, so I had to overstretch my legs. I thought it was a relief that Elvin couldn’t see my unwieldy figure since he was in front of me, and I was able to talk with him amiably.

We discussed things like the fact that today’s dinner would be good to look forward to, since all the remaining ingredients would be used, and that the soldiers welcomed the wine in the basement of the villa more than the scrolls.

While having such a comfortable conversation, suddenly Elvin asked.

“Do the priestess’s concerns have anything to do with the Nickel Knights’ leader?”

“…What?”

We were definitely just having small talk, so I was taken aback by the sudden question. He’d stopped walking and was looking down at me, but I didn’t dare face those golden eyes, so I decided to walk forward first.

There happened to be an uneven stone road below, so I had to walk carefully, and the silence between Elvin and I began to feel heavier.

So in the end, I put on an awkward smile and asked why he thought so, and Elvin’s reply came from right behind me. My attempt to distance myself failed miserably with just two steps from him.

“You seem a lot closer to him these days.”

“Ah, haha…close….”

We’re not that close…. But Elvin’s expression became unfamiliar once again because I only smiled vaguely and didn’t answer.

He looked up at me with a very strange expression. No, rather than looking up, his eyes met mine squarely. Even though he was clearly lower than me, he’s so much taller that I only had to tilt my head slightly to look at him.

There was still quite a bit of time before the sun went down, but the densely-planted trees provided a lot of shade. A cold wind blew, and until it subsided, the stillness between Elvin and I didn’t break.

It was a strange moment. Between Elvin staring at me, and me having to stare down at him, an atmosphere was created that I couldn’t name exactly.

Elvin, who tilted his head back to look down at me, asked slowly.

“Is it, perhaps, a question you’re uncomfortable answering?”

While I was hesitating, Elvin lowered his gaze and asked me this. His gold eyes, which shone brilliantly even under the shade of the trees, were slightly hidden between the delicate eyelashes.

“That much… it seems quite a lot has happened.”

Somehow the voice was extremely low. Too low; it gave the illusion that he found it offensive.

I still couldn’t say anything. This moment was unprecedented and uncomfortable, and words I shouldn’t say were threatening to spill out. Words I shouldn’t say to Elvin.

But as I faced him looking down at me with a sunken face, staring at me with a different expression than usual, I was in danger of losing control of my mouth.

Oh, I can’t.

Eventually I turned my back on him. The last bit of reason I managed to hold on to made me avoid looking at him at all.

So I moved to take a step forward, but to my surprise, my ankle twisted. Forgetting that we were on an uneven, downhill slope, my feet strode forward, causing this mistake.

“……”

But it was clearly a small mistake. There was a tree right next to me, and I was able to hold onto it, barely stopping myself from falling completely, but… Elvin caught me, bringing me into his embrace. The arms wrapped around my waist felt so unfamiliar.

There was no conversation between him and me. There was no sound except that of breath falling.

I am now standing firmly on the ground and can move forward. And yet, I’m unable to move.

I lost my sense of reality and could only blink blankly.

His arms aren’t…. letting go….

2 thoughts on “Chapter 28

  1. When the author says his “eyes curled,” they are talking about when someone smiles and the eyes go up at the corners. I’ve seen it described before, especially in Asian novels.

    Like

    1. Yeahh….I think I just don’t like it lol. I think it’s because lips “curling” typically has a negative connotation in English, so it’s difficult to imagine eyes “curling” a positive/nice thing. Even tho I’m sure the author just meant the smile reached Elvin’s eyes…I still just don’t like the word choice lol. But I try to keep as much of the author’s original as possible

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started